Printer Friendly  New Topic     Reply to Topic Next >> 
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

peter fogwill

21 Posts

Posted - 05 Mar 2004 :  19:08:06  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Anyone using the Clarke CL500M Metal Lathe/Mill Drill at
http://www.machinemart.co.uk/product.asp?p=060712520&r=2043&g=106
I will be using it mainly for aluminium.

BTW I have no lathe experience but I am a quick learner.

Thanks for any advice,

Peter

Edited by - peter fogwill on 05 Mar 2004 19:10:42

JamesC
Geek!

United Kingdom
398 Posts

Posted - 06 Mar 2004 :  00:53:41  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Peter and welcome to Robot Builder.

Do you have this machine or is this a purchase you are considering?

If you have not already made your decision I would suggest doing your homework very thoroughly. If you have no machining experience I would suggest evening classes as a good way not only to learn how to use the machinery but as a usefull way of working out exactly what you need from your machine.

Regards

James
Go to Top of Page

Bob
Serious Geek!

United Kingdom
1263 Posts

Posted - 06 Mar 2004 :  08:36:46  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Peter

The phrase that comes to mind is Jack of all trades, but master of them none I remember my old woodwork teacher (Ken Jenkins) teaching us that in about the third lesson in our first year at school. There was a lot to be said for teaching how to plane up a piece of wood, face edge, face side etc. I think it taught children a lot about perseverance and getting something right, saddly pressures of time and curriculum bloat have marginalised this type of traditional craft skill in technology courses. Anyway enough rambling.

The combination lathe, mill drill has a lot of appeal to people without the space to put separate machines, but I would not buy one myself. Here are my reasons:

The centre height is too great for a machine of its size, that means it will lack rigidity where it counts.